Keep up with what’s happening in the Texas rental housing industry

TAA celebrates professional award winners


Learn more about the 2022 Texas Apartment Association professional award winners.

Key takeaways

  • The Texas Apartment Association recognized eight individuals and one company as 2022 professional award winners at the TAA ONE Conference & Expo in Houston last month.
  • Awards were presented April 28 at the Stars of Texas Awards Gala.
  • The finalists in six of the award categories were also recognized.
  • More than 100 nominations were received for the Texas Apartment Association’s prestigious industry awards.
  • Awards honor outstanding members in a variety of professional categories.

Eight individuals and one company were honored April 28 during the Stars of Texas Awards Gala at the Texas Apartment Association ONE Conference & Expo in Houston.

TAA ONE Conference emcee Chet Garner, “The Daytripper,” presided during the program. TAA President Clay Hicks, CPM and James Burwell, representing awards sponsor Liberty Rent, welcomed the winners on stage.

More than 100 nominations were received in nine categories for the 2022 TAA industry awards recognizing deserving individuals or companies for their contributions to this industry.

The top five finalists in six award categories were also recognized during the program.

A new award, the Brad Williams Advocate of the Year, was presented for the first time in 2022 to honor a member for outstanding advocacy work on the local, state or national level. Brad’s wife, Ginny, and son, Bradley, participated in the presentation of this first Brad Williams Advocate of the Year Award to Marc Ross, CAPS, San Antonio.

Brad Williams Advocate of the Year Winner
Marc Ross
Bob Ross Realty
San Antonio Apartment Association
Marc led a successful local effort recently to convince the San Antonio City Council not to copy other cities in mandating a 30-day notice to vacate ordinance. This effort followed an earlier one working with the city to craft a rent relief program that was in place before federal dollars were allocated for similar efforts. Like the award’s namesake Brad Williams, Marc is a past president of TAA and a past chair of the National Apartment Association and has always been willing to dive into the details on any policy matter.

Marc is pictured with Ginny Williams and Bradley Williams.

Barbara MacManus Manager of the Year Winner
Ruha Vohra, CAM, NALP
Veritas Equity Management
Houston Apartment Association
Ruha kept occupancy high and delinquency low at her community this past year—no small thing considering the volatility of the last couple of years. Her community was recognized as the Houston Apartment Association’s 2021 Property of the Year in its category, an accomplishment Ruha says meant “everything” to her team. She was awarded HAA’s Go-Getter of the Year Award last year for her membership recruitment efforts, and she is the current co-chair of HAA’s NEXT Committee. Ruha also graduated from NAA’s Diversity Leadership Program last year, an experience she valued for its mentorship and training.

Ruha is pictured with her mother.

Mary Williams Maintenance Technician of the Year Winner
Manuel Acevedo, CAMT, CPO
Tropicana Properties
El Paso Apartment Association
Manny is the maintenance superintendent at Tropicana Properties, overseeing the company’s entire maintenance department. He started with the company more than 15 years ago as a maintenance technician with no experience and worked his way up. He’s proud of getting two properties through their final inspections last year with no findings and oversaw 2,700 make-readies in 2021. He serves on the El Paso Apartment Association Next Gen and Programs Committees.

Anita Marcino Leasing Professional of the Year Winner
Cynthia Prieto, HCCP
Tropicana Properties
El Paso Apartment Association
Cynthia has been recognized by Tropicana as the company’s top leasing agent for the past two years. She handles inquiries for 24 properties in the company’s affordable housing portfolio and screened more than 670 applications for compliance this past year. She began as a secretary for the company and has moved up into her current position. She participates in El Paso’s Next Gen and government affairs programs.

Cynthia is pictured with Clay Hicks, CPM and James Burwell, MBA, CAM, CAS.


Rita Kirby Regional Property Manager of the Year Winner
Victoria Keeler, CAPS
Churchill Forge Properties
San Antonio Apartment Association
Victoria is a Regional Property Supervisor for Churchill Forge Properties. She oversees properties in San Antonio, Kerrville and Odessa and currently serves as the president of the San Antonio Apartment Association. She credits her involvement in local government affairs and political issues with helping her to keep her team members educated and to be pro-active on policies that impact the industry.

Victoria is pictured with Clay Hicks, CPM and James Burwell, MBA, CAM, CAS.

Bob Ross Independent Owner of the Year Winner
Supriya Sriraman, IROP
Redbrix Property Group LLC
Apartment Association of Greater Dallas
Supriya was recognized for rehabbing the first apartment community she purchased, a 1970-built Class C property in the Uptown/Medical District area of Dallas. The renovation took 14 months and significantly upgraded the community and neighborhood. The property also received the Apartment Association of Greater Dallas’ Sapphire Award for Property of the Year in its category. Supriya has also been recognized as an NAA Independent Rental Owner of the Year and AAGD’s Independent Rental Owner of the Year.

Supriya is pictured with Clay Hicks, CPM and James Burwell, MBA, CAM, CAS.

George Allen Association Executive of the Year Winner
Scott Lynch
El Paso Apartment Association
Under Scott’s leadership the past two years, the El Paso Apartment Association was recognized by NAA for supplier member growth, launched a new association magazine and distributed more than $1 million in rental assistance funds without relying on outside partners to administer the program. EPAA has also worked with TAAEF, Fort Bliss and Western Technical College to sponsor vocational training programs for military personnel and veterans.

Scott is pictured with Clay Hicks, CPM and James Burwell, MBA, CAM, CAS.

Olin Steele Lifetime Achievement Award Winner
Charles Stroud, CAS, Stroud Consulting Group
Charles has been involved in the apartment industry since 1986. He is a past chair of TAA’s Product/Service Council and a past recipient of the Apartment Association of Tarrant County Jerry Earnhart Distinguished Service Award, which has only been given to 10 individuals in 54 years. Charles has earned several honors from NAA, including a Lifetime Achievement Award. He teaches Supplier Success classes for several associations and helped create a “Traffick 911” class to help educate industry members on child trafficking issues in Texas.


Mike Clark Supplier Partner Company of the Year Winner
Camp Construction
Camp Construction is an active member of TAA’s five largest local affiliates, and participates at a high level of involvement, leadership, sponsorship and financial support in them all. The company encourages its employees to earn the CAS designation, and Camp employees have been involved in more than 1,000 apartment association volunteer committees around the state. Camp believes its involvement in the local, state and national associations has been instrumental in the success of its business.

Camp Construction President Jeff Blevins, CAS is pictured with Clay Hicks, CPM and James Burwell, MBA, CAM, CAS.

More from May 2022 Member Newsletter

Log in to view members only content.