November election ballot set after May 24 primary runoffs


Most of the candidates supported by the Texas Apartment Association Political Action Committee (TAA PAC) were successful in their primary runoff races. Learn more.

Key takeaways

  • The Texas Apartment Association Political Action Committee (TAA PAC) backed 13 candidates in the May 24 Republican and Democratic primary races. Ten were successful and will be on the November ballot.
  • In addition, incumbent Attorney General Ken Paxton (R-Austin) easily won the Republican nomination for his office, defeating current Texas Land Commissioner George P. Bush. TAA PAC did not take a position in that race.
  • The TAA Legislative Committee worked with local affiliates to determine whether to back candidates in the runoff elections and deliver campaign contributions.
  • TAA PAC supported one candidate for statewide office, two Senate candidates and 10 House candidates. Ten of the races TAA PAC participated in were for open seats, and in the other three races, TAA PAC supported an incumbent candidate.

Voters went to the polls May 24 to make their choices in more than 30 runoffs for statewide and legislative races (among many others, and you can view the full list here), cementing the Democratic and Republican candidates who will appear on ballots in November. There were 20 runoffs to determine Republican candidates and 12 runoffs to choose Democratic candidates for statewide, Senate, and House offices.

A little more than 1.4 million Texans—8.1 percent of registered voters—cast ballots in the primary runoff election, according to unofficial results reported by the Secretary of State’s office. That figure represents the highest turnout in a runoff election since the mid-1960s when the poll tax was ended.

The TAA Political Action Committee (TAA PAC) endorsed 13 candidates in this primary runoff election. Ten of the candidates supported were successful. TAA PAC endorsed candidates in both party runoffs.

In statewide races, TAA PAC supported state Sen. Dawn Buckingham as the Republican candidate for Land Commissioner. Buckingham will face Democrat Jay Kleberg in the fall.

George P. Bush, the incumbent Land Commissioner, lost his runoff with Attorney General Ken Paxton in the race to determine the Republican candidate for Attorney General. Paxton will face Democrat Rochelle M. Garza in November. TAA PAC did not take a position in the primaries or runoffs for this race.

State Senate, House races

In Texas Senate runoff races, TAA PAC endorsed Morgan LaMantia (D-Brownsville) and Pete Flores (R-Pleasanton). Both were successful.  

For runoffs in the Texas House, TAA PAC endorsed 10 candidates; seven won their races. Elisa Chan, HD 122 (R-San Antonio), Shelley Barineau, HD 133 (R-Houston), and Laura Hill, HD 93 (R-Fort Worth) were unsuccessful in their efforts to secure the Republican nomination for an open seat.

See the list of candidates endorsed by TAA PAC. 

TAA PAC is the #1 way we advocate on your behalf, supporting candidates for state office who will help foster a positive business climate in Texas. As we gear up for the November general election, your investment is critical to ensure we have the resources to work for you! Learn more about TAA PAC and consider contributing today.



More from June 2022 Member Newsletter

Log in to view members only content.